

Strong Women on Song

2013 National Indigenous Music Awards Winners Announced



Download a selection of 2013 NIMA winner photos: http://bit.ly/15UzKMt
Download a selection of 2013 NIMA photos from last night - http://bit.ly/13Ykadj

Women have been celebrated in a strong showing at the National Indigenous Music Awards in Darwin on Saturday 10 August where for the first time, female artist **Jessica Mauboy** has won **National Artist of the Year.** On the cusp of furthering her career in the US, this recognition is timely and celebrates her substantial achievement over the past 12 months.

It has been a whirlwind year for young Queensland singer/songwriter **Thelma Plum** who in 2012 won the opportunity to perform at the NIMAs from triple j Unearthed in a national competition. Signaling her as an artist to watch, she took out **New Talent of the Year** amid a pool of the country's best emerging acts from around the country.

Displaying the diversity of Indigenous music nationally, **Shellie Morris and the Borroloola Songwomen** won **Song of the Year** for *'Waliwaliyangu li-Anthawirriyarra a-Kurija (Saltwater People Song)'* from their highly acclaimed album release sung almost entirely in the Yanyuwa language from the Gulf Country, of which only 10 fluent speakers remain in the world. Shellie was also awarded the **G.R. Burarrawanga Memorial Award** for NT artists.

Archie Roach, the much loved elder of the Australian music community made a triumphant return with his release *Into the Bloodstream*. Awarded **National Album of the Year** and **Cover Art of the Year**, Archie's voice can be heard rising from the pain of his own life-threatening illness and of losing his partner in music and in life. The inspirational <u>'Song to Sing'</u> clip from *Into the Bloodstream*, which features legendary indigenous actor Jack Charles also took out **Film Clip of the Year**.

Archie Roach's contribution to the music industry was recognized with an induction into the **NIMA Hall of Fame** alongside **Henry 'Seaman' Dan** and **Wirrinyga Band** from Milingimbi, NT. **Gurrumul Yunupingu**, whose stature and achievements have continued to grow over the past year through collaborations with a diverse mix of artists including Flume, Yolanda B Cool and Delta Goodrem. He released his biography and continues to sell out shows across the country and the world. Gurrumul was presented with the **Special Recognition Award to recognise this continued high level of achievement and the path it carves out for Indigenous musicians.**

They almost missed the presentation as their bus from Katherine ran late, but the NT community of Rockhole ran on stage to collect the new **Community Clip of the Year Award**, which acknowledges the role that music and new media plays in spreading positive messages throughout indigenous communities. <u>'Rockhole'</u> by the **Wurli - Wurlinjang Health**



Service and **Indigenous Hip Hop Projects** has reached well over 17,000 YouTube views and has become a viral NT hit. **Rulku Band** from Milingimbi took out **NT School Band of the Year** and also kicked off the performances for the night. The **Traditional Music Award** was presented to **Wandawuy, The Mulka Manikay Archives.**

"This years awards truly demonstrate the great strides that Indigenous music has made across the Country and reflect the growing success of Indigenous musicians. Celebrating 10 years this year and in the third year of being a national event the NIMA's have arrived as the premier Indigenous music awards. MusicNT extends its congratulations to all the winners." Mark Smith, General Manager MusicNT

In a night that awarded the current stars of Australia's indigenous music scene, the NIMAs concert paid tribute to the act that gave many people around the world their first taste of Australian indigenous music, **Yothu Yindi.**

Under the beautiful Darwin dry season sky, seminal artists such as **Jimblah**, **Shellie Morris**, members of **The Medics**, **Kutcha Edwards**, **East Journey** and many others joined in with some of the original members of Yothu Yindi in a special tribute concert MC'd by Peter Garrett. **Gurrumul Yunupingu**, who started his music career as the band's keyboardist, was a crowd favourite and saw people rush the stage. Highlights of the night included Jimblah's hip hop dub step version of *Fire*, East Journey joining in with Yothu Yindi for 'Mainstream' and the entire group joining in with rocking rendition of "Treaty" sung by lead singer from East Journey **Rrawun Maymuru** with **Bevan Yunupingu** and **Jodie Cockatoo Creed** from **Yothu Yindi**. All singers, dancers and a few others joined in to bring the house down in a fitting celebration and recognition of all that the band and Mr Yunupingu stood for.

The National Indigenous Music Awards celebrate traditional and contemporary artists from around the country and this year truly show the strength of Indigenous music across the country.

2013 National Indigenous Music Award Winners

National Artist of the Year

Jessica Mauboy

National Album of the Year

Into the Bloodstream - Archie Roach

National Song of the Year

'Waliwaliyangu li-Anthawirriyarra a-Kurija (Saltwater People Song)' - Shellie Morris and the Borroloola Songwomen

National New Talent of the Year

Thelma Plum

National Cover Art of the Year

Into the Bloodstream - Archie Roach
Designed by Jacob Tolo
Original Painting by Robert Lowe Senior

National Film Clip of the Year

'Song to Sing' - Archie Roach Co-Directors - David Vadiveloo / Community Prophets & Natasha Gadd / Daybreak Films

G.R. Burarrawanga Memorial Award

Shellie Morris



NT Community Clip of the Year

Rockhole Community
Rockhole produced by IHHP for Wurli - Wurlinjang Health Service

NT School Band of the Year

Rulku

NT Traditional Music Award of the Year

Wandawuy - The Mulka Manikay Archives

NIMA Hall of Fame

Archie Roach Henry 'Seaman' Dan Wirrinyga Band, Milingimbi

NIMA Special Recognition Award

Gurrumul Yunupingu

Media Enquiries: Chryss Carr - 0417 800 869 aum@aum.net.au / MirandaRiley - 0402 054 327/ Miranda@aum.net.au / Miranda@aum.net.au